The Clinton Community College Adult Basic Education department celebrated the 2022 High School Equivalency Program Graduation on Tuesday, June 28 in the Clinton Community College Auditorium, Clinton, Iowa.

Twenty-nine students completed the program during the 2021-22 academic year. Of those graduating, 16 participated in the ceremony with addresses given by two students. Kip Simpson of Big River Packaging gave the Keynote Address sharing words of congratulations and challenging the students to move forward using the momentum of their education. Other platform guests included Eastern Iowa Community Colleges Chancellor Dr. Don Doucette, EICC Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Kristen Raney, EICC Dean of Adult Education Dr. Scott Schneider, and CCC Dean of Instruction Amy Madsen-Smith. CCC HiSET Lead Teacher Mary Jo Nier commented about this group of graduates, “Their paths were varied, but they all put in the work and got it done. It was so wonderful to celebrate the hard work and success these amazing people.”

Since 2003 the Paul B. Sharar Foundation and the Eastern Iowa Community College Board of Trustees have partnered to offer each graduate of the EICC High School Equivalency program a three credit hour scholarship or the equivalent cost of a program that would lead to immediate employment.

People in Clinton and Jackson counties are enrolled in the CCC High School Equivalency program. The High School Equivalency program provides individuals who did not graduate from high school an opportunity to earn their diplomas. To do so, the graduates are required to successfully pass five different state approved tests in Language Arts Writing, Social Studies, Science, Language Arts Reading, and Math. Minimum scores are required for each test area as well as an overall minimum average score.

Enrollment for fall classes is currently underway. For more information about the High School Equivalency and English Language Acquisition programs, call Clinton Community College at 563-244-7001 or visit the website at

2022 High School Equivalency Program Graduates:

Camanche, IA

Tyler Lovell


Clinton, IA

Grant Blount

Chelsea Cole

Aleah Conely

John Davis

Kendall Dunnam

Azariah Evans

Robin Harlock

Trent Hill

Christopher Hopkins II

Allen Johnson

Nickolaus Lincoln

Cody Parker

Nicole Perez-Lopez

Jonathan Ponce

Rebecca Rector

Corey Sparlin

Jennifer Williamson


DeWitt, IA

Kristina Anderson

Cole Eberhart


Elwood, IA

Abagail Block


Goose Lake, IA

Hannah Manning


Maquoketa, IA

Ariana Payton


Wheatland, IA

Carson Baldwin


Albany, IL

Jennifer Harkins

Megan Nivens


Fulton, IL

Annika Nance


Savanna, IL

Justyn Spencer


Thomson, IL

 Alexander Gabbard