Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

Sonya J. Williams, Ph.D.

Sonya J. Williams, Ph.D.My name is Sonya J. Williams. I completed my undergraduate studies in Zoology (B.S.) at the University of Oklahoma, in Norman, OK. I later attended graduate school at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City, OK. While there, I earned my Ph.D. in Anatomical Sciences/Neuroscience from the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology. A few short months after presenting my dissertation, I accepted a postdoctoral training position at Yale University School of Medicine. My major areas of research were reproductive neurobiology/neuroimmunology. Over the last 18 years, I have studied biological, zoological/ecological, anatomy/physiology/cell biology, chemistry (including organic and biochemistry), physics and physical sciences.

Prior to attending graduate school, I completed my tour of duty as a Captain in the United States Air Force. I come from a family of career military professionals, and have lived in many different states and a couple of different countries. I had a wonderful experience serving! Altogether, I have over 25 years’ experience in teaching and learning excellence/academics, research, and administration.

I often share my philosophy for Teaching and Learning Excellence: "Everyone can learn if given the chance! If we open our doors (as an institution of higher learning), and provide a quality service, then students/customers will leave with more than they came with! We must value those we serve, showing passion and inspiration, working with colleagues in collaboration, valuing talent and well-being, and above all else, staying true to our vision/mission! Reach out to those we serve and be accountable and ready to stand behind our mission so that everybody wins!" Simply put, I believe in the mission of Community Colleges and why they were created.

Presently, I am embarking upon my 30th year of marriage. My husband Gary and I are the proud parents of 2 daughters, 2 wonderful sons and 3 grandsons … and a little dog! We enjoy traveling and spending quality time together.