SCC President to Receive Paragon Award



Ann Lawler, SCC PresidentThe Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society will recognize 20 college presidents across the country with its Paragon President Award during PTK Catalyst 2022, the Society’s annual convention this spring in Denver, Colorado. Scott Community College President Ann Lawler, who began her presidency in October 2020, will be honored among those receiving the prestigious award.

To be eligible, college presidents and CEOs are new in their role having served less than three years in their positions. Recipients are nominated by students on their campuses and are only eligible to receive the award once. Lawler was selected from among 426 college presidents, chancellors and CEOs eligible to receive this award.

The award recognizes college leaders who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer and employment. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus.

In addition to Lawler, the 2022 Paragon Award recipients are:

Dr. Kenya Ayers-Palmore
Tarrant County College, Texas

Dr. Leah Barrett
Northeast Community College, Nebraska

Dr. Linda Braddy
Dallas College, Texas

Dr. Anthony Cruz
Miami Dade College, Florida

Dr. Karin Edwards
Clark College, Washington

Dr. Julie Fickas
St. Louis Community College, Missouri

Dr. Eric Friedman
Bergen Community College , New Jersey

Mr. Michael Geoghegan
Eastern Gateway Community College, Ohio

Ms. Tracy Hartzler
Central New Mexico Community College, New Mexico

Dr. Aaron Knight
San Jacinto College, Texas

Mrs. Amber Knoettgen
Cloud County Community College, Kansas

Mr. Nelson Kraft
Georgia Military College, Georgia

Ms. Ann Lawler
Scott Community College, Iowa

Dr. Marjorie McGuire-Welch
Southwestern Community College, Iowa

Dr. Stacey Moore
York Technical College, South Carolina

Dr. Feleccia Moore-Davis
St. Louis Community College, Missouri

Dr. Mary Reese
Suffolk County Community College, New York

Dr. Ryan Ruda
Garden City Community College, Kansas

Dr. Janet Spriggs
Forsyth Technical Community College, North Carolina

Dr. Tim Taylor
Shawnee Community College, Illinois

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at