Surgical Technology, AAS

EICC's Associate of Applied Science in Surgical Technology is designed to prepare students for a career as a certified or licensed Surgical Technologist.

National Certification

The Surgical Technology program prepares students to sit for the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (NBSTSA) Certified Surgical Technologist (CST) Examination. Students must have completed a Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) approved educational program prior to sitting for the exam. 

State Licensure

State licensure is not required for Surgical Technologists in all states and requirements may vary from state to state. Requirements may involve more than successful degree completion and passing the national certification exam. Graduates who apply for licensure may need to satisfy other requirements, such as completing an application, or paying a fee. Some states offer multiple pathways to achieve licensure.

EICC makes every effort to verify the information provided on requirements for licensure is accurate and up-to-date, however, these requirements are subject to change at any time. Students who will be seeking licensure as a Surgical Technologist are strongly encouraged to review the licensure requirements at the associated website, linked below where available, for the state in which they intend to practice. 

States where program meets the educational requirements for licensure

States where program does not meet the educational requirements for licensure


States where a determination regarding the educational requirements for licensure has not yet been made

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming