Practical Nursing, Diploma

EICC's Diploma in Practical Nursing is designed to academically prepare students for a career as a Licensed Practical Nurse. 

National Certification

The Practical Nursing diploma program prepares students to sit for the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses (NCLEX-PN). Students must have graduated from an approved program of academic study prior to sitting for the NCLEX-PN examination.

State Licensure

Requirements for licensure for Practical Nurses may vary from state to state and may involve more than successful degree completion and passing the NCLEX-PN exam. Graduates who apply for licensure may need to satisfy other requirements, such as completing an application, or paying a fee. Some states offer multiple pathways to achieve licensure.

EICC makes every effort to verify the information provided on requirements for licensure is accurate and up-to-date, however, these requirements are subject to change at any time. Students who will be seeking licensure as a Practical Nurse are strongly encouraged to review the licensure requirements at the associated website, linked below where available, for the state in which they intend to practice. 

States where program meets the educational requirements for licensure


States where program does not meet the educational requirements for licensure


States where a determination regarding the educational requirements for licensure has not yet been made

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Find other states at