Dental Assisting, Diploma

EICC's Diploma in Dental Assisting is designed to academically prepare students for a career as a Registered Dental Assistant.

National Certification

The Dental Assisting program prepares students to sit for the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) examination and the Iowa Board of Dental Examiners Radiography, Infection Control, and Jurisprudence State Board examinations. 

State Licensure/Registration

Requirements for registration for Dental Assistants varies from state to state and may involve more than successful program completion, passing a national certification exam, and/or passing a state board exam. Graduates who apply for registration may need to satisfy other requirements, such as completing an application, or paying a fee. Some states offer multiple pathways to achieve registration.

EICC makes every effort to verify the information provided on requirements for licensure is accurate and up-to-date, however, these requirements are subject to change at any time. Students who will be seeking licensure as a Dental Assistant are strongly encouraged to review the licensure requirements at the associated website, linked below where available, for the state in which they intend to practice. 

States where program meets the educational requirements for licensure


States where program does not meet the educational requirements for licensure

States where a determination regarding the educational requirements for licensure has not yet been made.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming