American Sign Language - English Interpreting, AAS

EICC's Associate of Applied Science in American Sign Language - English Interpreting is designed to prepare students for a career as a licensed Sign Language Interpreter.

National Certification

The ASL-EI program prepares students to sit for the following nationally recognized certification exams:

  • Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA)
  • The Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) National Interpreter Certification (NIC)
  • Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) certification

State Licensure

Requirements for licensure for Sign Language Interpreters vary from state to state and often involve more than successful degree completion. Graduates who apply for licensure may need to satisfy other requirements, such as passing one of the national certification examinations to obtain certification from a national agency, completing an application, or paying a fee. Some states offer multiple pathways to achieve licensure.

EICC makes every effort to verify the information provided on requirements for licensure is accurate and up-to-date, however, these requirements are subject to change at any time. Students who will be seeking licensure as a Sign Language Interpreter are strongly encouraged to review the licensure requirements at the associated website, linked below where available, for the state in which they intend to practice.

States where program meets the educational requirements for licensure

States where program does not meet the educational requirements for licensure.

States where a determination regarding the educational requirements for licensure has not yet been made.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana 
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota


  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming